Please let her spit on my face

If I ever tried to be good 

in front of my villagers

please provoke them

to punch me hard

so that I remember who I am.

If I ever tried to teach my parents

let them slap me hard

so that I fall unto their feet

so that I remember who I am.

If I ever tried to argue with my boss

please ask him to fire me immediately

so that I remember who I am

If I ever tried to be smart 

in front of my friend

please let him unfriend me immediately

so that I remember who I am.

If I ever tried to insult my spouse

Let her forsake me

so that I remember who I am. 

If I I ever tried to order my daughter

let her spit on my face

so that I remember who I am. 

 

Note: Inspired by Akka Mahadevi’s poem

Leave a Reply

