Shiva! Please let no food come my way!

Akka Mahadevi (~ 1130-1160 AD) was a great devotee of Shiva. She wrote hundreds of beautiful poems about Shiva and her devotion. Her prayer tells everything about her. Every day she prayed Shiva, she begged as follows:

Shiva! Please let no food,

come my way.

Let my body also express,

the longing and anguish,

that I am going through,

to become part of you.

If I eat,

my body will be satisfied,

but,

My body will not know,

what I am feeling.

So please let no food,

come towards me.

If food does come,

into my hands,

please let it,

fall down in the mud,

before I put it,

into my mouth.

And,

if it falls in the mud,

the fool that I am,

before I pick it up,

let a dog come,

and take it away.

One thought on “Shiva! Please let no food come my way!

  1. Pingback: Please let her spit on my face – Sagar P. Parajuli

Leave a Reply

