Everything led me closer to the self

My guilt of overdrinking on that night

My killing of the ants in the kitchen

My loneliness when among the people

My failure in spite of the hardworking

all led me closer to the self.

The falling of my daughter from the couch

The paralyzing disease of my brother

The pain of the chicken, cow, and goat

and the pain of the trimmed trees

all led me closer to the self.

My indifference to my own people

My ego wanting to be superior than my friend

My anger that shamed me often

and my complaints to my former boss

all led me closer to the self.

Leave a Reply

