In the Lap of the Master

It was one of the most awaited day. To meet Sadhguru. In Los Angeles on October 1st. Until that day, he came my way every day for a few months and gave some wisdom for free. I had not met him before but I had already started feeling his energy after I attended the inner engineering program. It was the day to meet him physically.

About 1500 people had gathered at the Pasadena Convention Center in California. Some came to get his blessings. Some came to touch his feet (although he would not allow). Some came to drink the wine of divine. A few came to test his knowledge.

ctwcwyrxgaaey-3

I was able to spot myself in the picture. Picture courtesy: Twitter profile of Isha Foundation. 

When I joined the local center of Isha Foundation after moving to Irvine, I  became part of Sounds of Isha because I knew a little bit of flute. I had an opportunity to perform in the last Guru Purnima along with other fellow meditators. This time, I was not able to join Sounds of Isha partly because I had a little daughter and partly because the venue was far from my place.

The most awaited moment finally came. I had read in other spiritual books (e.g., An Autobiography of a Yogi) that most miraculous things happen in the presence of a Guru. I remember someone somewhere wrote when he touched the feet of his Guru, his hands passed through his transparent feet and touched the ground. I don’t buy that. No! My consciousness does not believe in miracles unless those are in my experience. But still my petty mind desired to see some miracles.

The fellow meditators of Sounds of Isha played devotional songs one after another. I danced in the floor with the spectators. I enjoyed so much. I was feeling so light as if feather. I can’t imagine how blissful the colleagues of Sounds of Isha must be feeling.

No miracles happened. The only thing that happened was joy.

IMG_20161001_134101.jpg

I couldn’t help myself taking a selfie. 

And I was freed. Freed of a desire; desire to meet the Guru. I felt so light while I dropped my desire to meet him, in front of him.

On return, I brought him home, in the form of a book. His signature in the book will remind me of the blissful moments I spent with him.

To me, knowledge is my Guru. And upon me, the knowledge is coming from Sadhguru. He has given me the knowledge to swim. Getting to the bottom, I have to do on my own, with practice.

For all the things that knowledge has given to me, I bow down upon the feet of knowledge. I surrender. It makes me cry, but it makes me stronger not weaker.

PS:  Although I met him in person on Oct 1st, I still had the desire to touch his lotus feet which I couldn’t do there. I wrote this article on October 13th. In that night, Sadhguru came to my dream and I bowed down upon his lotus feet. The experience was no different than in real.

Leave a Reply

